Visa On Arrival

Visa on Arrival for other Nationalities to India:

India Tourist visa on arrival (TVOA) has been launched for the nationals of following countries for the stay upto 30 days which is non-extendable & non-convertible:

Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kingdom of Tongo, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Papua & New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Kiribati, Republic of Korea (i.e. South Korea), Republic of Marshall Islands, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Palau, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam and Vanuatu.

TVOA is only valid for entry through 9 International Airports – Bangalore, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai & Trivandrum and this facility is allowed not more than twice in a calendar year.

Below are the eligibility to avail India TVOA:

a) Sole objective of visiting India is recreation , sightseeing , casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.

b) Passport should have validity of at least six months

c) Holds return ticket or onward journey ticket with sufficient money to spend during the stay in India.

This facility is not available for Diplomatic/ Official Passport holders & the holders of Pakistan passport or Pakistani origin.

Visa on Arrival for Indian Passport Holders:

India is the second largest country in the world in terms of population. Most of Indians want to travel abroad to visit their favorite destination and are the biggest spender while traveling abroad according to the recent report. So, most of countries across the world tries to attract more and more Indian tourists towards their country. That’s why host country has made an agreement with the Indian Government to provide Visa on Arrival facility especially for Indian tourists after completion of the documents formalities. We have mentioned here the list of countries which provide Visa on Arrival facility to Indian passport holders i.e. Indian citizens.

Here is the list of Countries that issue visa on arrival to Indian citizens:

Bolivia – 90 days

Burundi – 30 days; obtainable at Bujumbura International Airport

Cambodia – 30 days

Cape Verde




Guinea-Bissau – 90 days

Guyana – 30 days provided holding confirmation, issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs

Indonesia – 30 days

Jordan – 2 weeks, must hold US$ 3000

Kenya – 3 months

Laos – 30 days

Madagascar – 90 days

Maldives – 90 days


Palau – 30 days

Saint Lucia – 6 weeks

Samoa – 60 days

Seychelles – 1 month

Somalia- 30 days, provided an invitation letter issued by the sponsor has been submitted to the Airport Immigration Department at least 2 days before arrival.


Thailand – 15 days. Visa fee of 1000 Thai Baht needs to be paid in Thai currency. Visa on Arrival has to be obtained at First point of entry/Landing not the Final Destination.

Timor-Leste – 30 days

Togo – 7 days

Tuvalu – 1 month


Somali land – 30 days for 30 US dollars, payable on arrival

Niue – 30 days

Countries you can travel to without visa from India:

Nepal – Freedom of movement based on the terms of the 1950 Indo-Nepal Treaty of Peace and Friendship that allows Indian citizens to live and work freely in Nepal.


Dominica – 6 months

Ecuador – 90 days

Mauritius- 90 days

Micronesia – 30 days

Grenada – 3 months

Haiti – 3 months


El Salvador – 90 days

Fiji – 4 months

Saint Kitts and Nevis – 3 months

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – 1 month

Trinidad and Tobago – 90 days

Vanuatu – 30 days

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus – 3 months

Svalbard – Visa is not required for entry to Svalbard but practically its impossible to board a flight/ferry to Svalbard without going through Norway therefore, this would invariably require a double entry Schengen visa in order to go and come back from Svalbard to mainland Norway.

Transnistria – Registration required after 24h

Hong Kong – 14 days

Palestine – Arrival by sea to Gaza Strip not allowed

British Virgin Islands

Montserrat – 6 months

Macau – 30 days

Turks and Caicos Islands – 30 days

Kish Island – No visa is required for visitors to Kish Island.

Cook Islands – 31 days

Pitcairn Islands – 14 days visa free and landing fee 35 USD or tax of 5 USD if you are not going ashore is required.

For obtaining a visa on arrival, visitors would typically need to furnish return flight tickets, proof of hotel reservations, evidence of sufficient funds to cover their stay, passport sized photographs, a passport with adequate empty pages and the money for fee if required by the country.

It is very easy for Indians to travel above mentioned countries without any worry of VISA. It can be obtained easily at particular International Airport while entering into the country. It is always recommended that you should visit the Official website of the particular embassy in India before the final planning.

From the above mentioned countries, some have problems of tourists’ security such as Somalia, Somali land and Burundi. Somalia’s capital, Mogadishu is the most dangerous city in the world. Still, if you want to visit Somalia then try to get advice from fellow tourists who have already visited Somalia.

Strict Note: Before the final planning of your trip, Please consult embassy/high commission or consulate general of the particular country to avoid hassle. Sometime special facility or agreement of visa on arrival changes from time to time.